Higher Degree by Research Students

Christine Ablaza
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: c.ablaza@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Do temporary contracts help or hurt workers: Evidence from the Philippines
Supervisors: Professor Mark Western, Dr Wojtek Tomaszewski and Professor Christopher Manning


Sarah Ball
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: s.ball@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: The use of behavioural insights and experimental methods in the development of social policy in Australia
Supervisors: Associate Professor Cameron Parsell, Professor Brian Head, Dr Sarah Bennett, and Dr Emma Antrobus


Tahmina Begum
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: t.begum@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Caesarean birth and it’s impact on maternal and offspring health in Australia : A life course perspective
Supervisors: Associate Professor Abdullah Mamun and Dr Satyamurthy Anuradha


Tuhin Biswas
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: t.biswas@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Double burden of malnutrition among the women in South and Southeast Asia: Geographical variation, health inequality and health achievement
Supervisors: Associate Professor Abdullah Mamun and Associate Professor Ricardo Jorge Soares Magalhaes


Madonna Boman
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: m.boman@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Risky transitions: Young people moving from out-of-home care in Queensland, Australia
Supervisors: Associate Professor Cameron Parsell and Dr Jack Lam


Meredith Burgess
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: meredith.burgess@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Sexual orientation and life chances in contemporary Australia
Supervisors: Dr Francisco Perales and Professor Janeen Baxter


Suaditya C Mohan
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: s.cmohan@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Social ties and violence: A comparative study of the mediating effects of law legitimacy
Supervisors: Professor Lorraine Mazerolle, Dr Renee Zahnow


Alice Campbell
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: alice.campbell@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Sexual identity fluidity: The prevalence, predictors and outcomes of sexual identity change in two cohorts of Australian women
Supervisors: Dr Francisco Perales and Professor Janeen Baxter


Katrina Carr
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: k.carr@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Practice transformations to achieve justice for sexual assault victims
Supervisors: Dr Sarah Bennett and Associate Professor Cameron Parsell


Leah Cave
Institution: The University of Western Australia
Email: leah.cave@telethonkids.org.au
PhD Topic: Pathways between racial discrimination and the health and wellbeing of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children and young people
Supervisors: Professor Stephen Zubrick, Dr Carrington Shepherd, Dr Matthew Cooper, and Dr Hayley Christian


Carys Chainey
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: carys.chainey@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Childhood adversity in Australia: Does parenting moderate its effect on wellbeing?
Supervisors: Dr Kylie Burke and Professor Michele Haynes


Laetitia Coles
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: l.coles@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Highly involved breadwinner dads: Determinants of father involvement with children amongst fathers who work very long hours
Supervisors: Dr Wojtek Tomaszewski, Professor Belinda Hewitt and Professor Lynda Cheshire


Patricia Collingwood
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: patricia.collingwood@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: School truancy and financial independence during emerging adulthood: A longitudinal analysis of receipt of and reliance on cash transfers
Supervisors: Professor Lorraine Mazerolle and Associate Professor Jason Ferris


Emma Cooke
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: e.cooke@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Children’s experiences of spiritual wellbeing and relaxation in Early Childhood Education and Care
Supervisors: Dr Sally Staton, Dr Andrew Clarke, Profesor Karen Thorpe


Kathleen De Rooy
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: kathleen.derooy@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Researching female offenders in their journey to desistance from a life course of crime
Supervisors: Dr Sarah Bennett and Dr Michelle Sydes


Gursimran Dhamrait
Institution: The University of Western Australia
Email: gursimran.dhamrait@telethonkids.org.au
PhD Topic: The effects of birth spacing, family size and demographic factors on child development outcomes at age 5
Supervisors: Professor Catherine Taylor, Dr Gavin Pereira, and Professor Stephen Zubrick


Maria Francisca Donoso Rivas
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: m.donosorivas@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Beyond school choice: understanding parental engagement in the context of school choice reform
Supervisors: Dr Jenny Povey, Dr Wojtek Tomaszewski, and Professor Mark Western


Ruth (Lute) Faleolo
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: r.faleolo@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Pasifika well-being perceptions and Trans-Tasman migrant experiences
Supervisors: Professor Paul Memmott, Dr Kelly Greenop, Professor Mark Western, and Dr Denise Clague


Lilac Florentino
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: l.florentino@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Managing odds: Addressing educational disadvantage through school accountability and better HRM practices
Supervisors: Dr Wojtek Tomaszewski, Dr Jenny Povey


Md. Mehedi Hasan
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: m.m.hasan@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Future direction of maternal and child health in low- and middle- income countries
Supervisors: Associate Professor Abdullah Mamun, Associate Professor Ricardo Jorge Soares Magalhaes, Professor Saifuddin Ahmed


Nam (April) Hoang
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: a.hoang@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: The effectiveness of the Triple P -Positive Parenting Program with Vietnamese parents whose children have mental health problems
Supervisors: Professor Matt Sanders, Dr Divna Haslam, and Dr James Kirby


M Mamun Huda
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: m.huda@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Adolescent motherhood and offspring health in low and middle income countries: Trends, determinants, and vulnerabilities
Supervisors: Associate Professor Abdullah Mamun, Dr Martin O’Flaherty, and Dr Jocelyn Finlay


Nicole Kapelle
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: e.kapelle@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Gendered impacts of life course transitions on social disadvantage in contemporary Australia: A life course perspective
Supervisors: Professor Janeen Baxter, Dr Sergi Vidal, and Dr Phillip Lersch


Ella Kuskoff
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: e.kuskoff@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Achieving cultural change through policy: An analysis of state intervention in cultural aspects of domestic violence
Supervisors: Associate Professor Cameron Parsell, Dr Andrew Clarke and Professor Greg Marston


Felix Leung
Institution: The University of Sydney
Email: sleu5999@uni.sydney.edu.au
PhD Topic: The causal effects of cognitive and noncognitive skills on education
Supervisors: Associate Professor Stefanie Schurer and Dr Peter Exterkate


Yongbo Liu
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: yongbo.liu@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: The impact of China’s two child policy on downward occupational mobility for the female: Study based on difference in differences model
Supervisors: Professor Janeen Baxter and Dr Martin O’Flaherty


Cari McIlduff
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: c.mcilduff@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Cultural sensitivity in working with indigenous peoples: A model proposed and evaluated towards culturally sympathetic methodology for capacity building and social change
Supervisors: Associate Professor Karen Turner, Dr Christine Wilson, and Professor Matt Sanders


Paul Morton
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: paul.morton@uq.net.au
MPhil Topic: Operation galley
Supervisors: Professor Lorraine Mazerolle and Dr Sarah Bennett


Narayan Panthi
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: n.panthi@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Learning together: Supporting educators to manage behavioural challenges in early childhood services
Supervisors: Professor Karen Thorpe and Dr Sally Staton


Sonia Pervin
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: s.pervin@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Resemblance of parent-offspring dietary patterns and the development of offspring cardiometabolic risks: A life course perspective
Supervisors: Associate Professor Abdullah Mamun, Professor Harold McIntyre


Arvind Ponnapalli
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: n.ponnapalli@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Indigenous parent wellbeing measure: Implications for early intervention parenting programs in Indigenous communities
Supervisors: Associate Professor Karen Turner, Professor Matt Sanders


Emina Prguda
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: e.prguda@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Engaging parents involved in Community Corrections: The role of parenting interventions in improving child and parent outcomes
Supervisors: Dr Kylie Burke, Dr Emma Antrobus and Dr Sarah Bennett


Kevin Pugh
Institution: The University of Sydney
Email: kpug5271@uni.sydney.edu.au
PhD Topic: Three essays on the economics of school education
Supervisors: Dr Marian Vidal-Fernandez, Dr Yi Sun, Dr Valentina Duque


Jonathan Rowe
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: jonathan.rowe@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Transforming charity to reduce persistent poverty in Australia: An ethnographic study examining how charity is delivered, experienced by recipients, and fits within the contemporary welfare state.
Supervisors: Associate Professor Cameron Parsell, Dr Andrew Clarke


Christian Schmitt
Institution: The University of Sydney
Email: christian.schmitt@sydney.edu.au
Masters Topic: The effects of informal childcare on female labour force participation: evidence from Australia
Supervisors: Dr Marian Vidal-Fernandez and Associate Professor Stephen Whelan


Marian Shakhovskoy
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: m.shakhovskoy@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Using cogenerative dialogues to investigate how parent engagement with their adolescent children can be enhanced at home and school
Supervisors: Dr Linda Willis and Dr Jenny Povey


Nikita Sharma
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: nikita.sharma@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Immigrants in the Australian labour market
Supervisors: Dr Wojtek Tomaszewki, Professor Janeen Baxter, and Dr Jenny Povey


Laura Simpson Reeves
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: laura.simpsonreeves@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Cultural perceptions of poverty and inequality
Supervisors: Associate Professor Cameron Parsell and Associate Professor Shuang Liu


Ruth Steinbring
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: r.steinbring@uq.net.au
MPhil Topic: Female breadwinners: Paid and unpaid work in families where women earn more than men
Supervisors: Dr Jack Lam, Dr Francisco Perales, Professor Janeen Baxter


Victoria Sullivan
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: v.sullivan@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Pride and Prejudice: The claiming and contesting of men’s participation in the early childhood workforce
Supervisors: Professor Karen Thorpe and Dr Yuwei Xu (UCL)


Angelina Tang
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: z.tang@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Overseas graduates in Australia: Characteristics, dynamics, and change
Supervisors: Dr Francisco Perales, Professor Janeen Baxter, and Dr Francisco Rowe


Xueting Wang
Institution: The University of Sydney
Email: xwan8838@uni.sydney.edu.au
PhD Topic: Adolescent’s self-control issue and disadvantage
Supervisors: Associate Professor Agnieszka Tymula and Dr Stephen Cheung


Nicole Watson
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: n.watson@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Improvements in non-response adjustments for complex longitudinal survey data
Supervisors: Professor Janeen Baxter, Dr John Henstridge, and Professor Michele Haynes


Steve Yeong
Institution: The University of Sydney
Email: steve.yeong@justice.nsw.gov.au
PhD Topic:  Essays in micro econometric policy evaluation
Supervisors: Dr Katrien Stevens, Professor Deborah Cobb-Clark, Dr Don Weatherburn, Dr Mario Fiorini


Asma Zulfiqar
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: a.zulfiqar@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Narrative inquiry approach: Understanding how women achieve and modify their agentic orientations in complex patriarchal structures, in redefining and reshaping their identities throughout their life course.
Supervisors: Dr Jenny Povey, Dr Linda Willis, and Professor Janeen Baxter


 

Honours Students

Kaliah Daley
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: k.daley@uq.edu.au 
Topic: The gendered views of at-risk youth
Supervisors: Dr Emma Antrobus


Kathryn Good
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: k.good@uq.net.au 
Topic: Pathways to prevention: Assessing a police trust building program
Supervisors: Professor Lorraine Mazerolle


Patrick Hendy
Institution: The University of Sydney
Email: patrick.hendy@sydney.edu.au
Topic: Prize Linked Debt: Increasing credit card repayments in theory and an experiment
Supervisors: Dr Kadir Atalay, Professor Robert Slonim


Shumi Ruan
Institution: The University of Sydney
Email: srua2645@uni.sydney.edu.au
Topic: The long-term benefits of different permanency pathway arrangements in NSW out-of-home care system
Supervisors: Associate Professor Stephanie Schurer


Liam Varley
Institution: The University of Sydney
Email: liam.varley@sydney.edu.au
Topic: The effects of Protestantism on economic outcomes in Australia
Supervisors: Dr Marian Vidal-Fernandez and Dr Jordi Vidal-Robert


Fengzheng Wan
Institution: The University of Sydney
Email: fwan0232@uni.sydney.edu.au
Topic: The spillover effect of Australian school drug education on parents’ health habits
Supervisors: Dr Marian Vidal-Fernandez and Dr Rebecca Taylor