Higher Degree by Research Students

 

Christine Ablaza
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: c.ablaza@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Do temporary contracts help or hurt workers: Evidence from the Philippines
Supervisors: Professor Mark Western, Associate Professor Wojtek Tomaszewski and Professor Christopher Manning


Nimisha Bahl
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: n.bahl@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Early life social, economic and family predictors of the trajectory of malnutrition and cognitive development from childhood to adulthood
Supervisors: Associate Professor Abdullah Mamun, Dr Nam Tran and Professor Kamlesh Singh


Pulan Bai
Institution: The University of Western Australia
Email: pulan.bai@telethonkids.org.au
PhD Topic: Patterns and profiles of preschool children’s physical activity in the home, neighbourhood and early childhood education and care centres: A cross-sectional study using device based measures of physical activity behaviour and objective measures of the physical environment.
Supervisors: Associate Professor Hayley Christian, Associate Professor Jasper Schipperijn, and Professor Michael Rosenberg


Tahmina Begum
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: t.begum@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Caesarean birth and it’s impact on maternal and offspring health in Australia : A life course perspective
Supervisors: Associate Professor Abdullah Mamun and Dr Satyamurthy Anuradha


Meredith Burgess
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: meredith.burgess@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Sexual orientation and life chances in contemporary Australia
Supervisors: Associate Professor Francisco Perales, Professor Lisa McDaid and Professor Janeen Baxter


Suaditya C Mohan
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: s.cmohan@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Disaster Strain: Exploring and comparing people’s lived experiences of the 2011 Brisbane flooding and 2020 COVID-19 pandemic in Brisbane, Queensland.
Supervisors: Dr Suzanna Fay, Dr Renee Zahnow, Dr Jonah Rimer


Imogen Carr
Institution: The University of Melbourne
Email: imogen@student.unimelb.edu.au
PhD Topic: Intersectional women’s identities within spaces of micro-encounter perception, experience and expression
Supervisors: Associate Professor Ilan Wiesel and Dr Ellen van Holstein


Charlotte Casey
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: charlotte.casey1@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Attachment relationships in the early childhood education and care setting
Supervisors: Dr Sally Staton and Profesor Karen Thorpe


Zhi Chen
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: zhi.chen1@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Towards high-quality feature generation for zero-shot learning
Supervisors: Professor Helen Huang, Dr Sen Wang and Professor Jingjing Li


Emma Cooke
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: e.cooke@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Children’s experiences of spiritual wellbeing and relaxation in Early Childhood Education and Care
Supervisors: Dr Sally Staton, Dr Andrew Clarke, Profesor Karen Thorpe


Kathleen De Rooy
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: kathleen.derooy@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Forecasting female offending: Understanding high risk factors, locations and times
Supervisors: Associate Professor Sarah Bennett, Associate Professor Francisco Perales and Dr Michelle Sydes


Gursimran Dhamrait
Institution: The University of Western Australia
Email: gursimran.dhamrait@telethonkids.org.au
PhD Topic: The effects of birth spacing, family size and demographic factors on child development outcomes at age 5
Supervisors: Associate Professor Hayley Christian, Professor Gavin Pereira, and Dr Melissa O’Donnell


Maria Francisca Donoso Rivas
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: m.donosorivas@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Beyond school choice: understanding parental engagement in the context of school choice reform
Supervisors: Dr Jenny Povey, Associate Professor Wojtek Tomaszewski, and Professor Mark Western


Lilac Florentino
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: l.florentino@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Managing odds: Addressing educational disadvantage through school accountability and better HRM practices
Supervisors: Associate Professor Wojtek Tomaszewski, Dr Jenny Povey


Phoebe George
Institution: The University of Western Australia
Email: phoebe.george@telethonkids.org.au
PhD Topic: Impact of green and blue space on young children’s health and development
Supervisors: Associate Professor Haley Christian, Dr Kevin Murray


Md. Mehedi Hasan
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: m.m.hasan@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Future direction of maternal and child health in low- and middle- income countries
Supervisors: Associate Professor Abdullah Mamun, Associate Professor Ricardo Jorge Soares Magalhaes, Professor Saifuddin Ahmed


Heidi Hoffmann
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: h.hoffmann@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: A sociological analysis of suicide in Australia
Supervisors: Professor Janeen Baxter, Associate Professor Cameron Parsell, and Associate Professor Francisco Perales


Sue Huang
Institution: The University of Melbourne
Email: sue.huang1@student.unimelb.edu.au
PhD Topic: Circular economy and food systems in cities
Supervisors: Professor Brendan Gleeson, Dr Sangeetha Chandrashekeran and Dr Ihnji Jon


M Mamun Huda
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: m.huda@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Adolescent motherhood and offspring health in low and middle income countries: Trends, determinants, and vulnerabilities
Supervisors: Associate Professor Abdullah Mamun, Dr Martin O’Flaherty, and Dr Jocelyn Finlay


Dure Sameen Jabran
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: d.jabran@uq.net.au
MPhil Topic: Poor sleep and SEWB issues in Indigenous youth: Untapped potential of Indigenous youth workers led models for sleep and SEWB
Supervisors: Dr Yaqoot Fatima and Professor Simon Smith


Iryna Kolesnikova
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: i.kolesnikova@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: The impact of out-of-home care on children’s social-emotional wellbeing: A life course approach
Supervisors: Associate Professor Jenny Povey, Professor Janeen Baxter, Professor Karen Healy


Felix Leung
Institution: The University of Sydney
Email: sleu5999@uni.sydney.edu.au
PhD Topic: The causal effects of cognitive and noncognitive skills on education
Supervisors: Professor Stefanie Schurer and Dr Peter Exterkate


Anna Loeffler
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: a.loeffler@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Children’s sleep development and social-emotional outcomes
Supervisors: Dr Sally Staton, Dr Peter Rankin and Professor Karen Thorpe


Yongbo Liu
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: yongbo.liu@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Multigenerational effects on health inequality in Australia: Influence of grandparental social economic status on health outcomes
Supervisors: Dr Martin O’Flaherty, Dr Jack Lam and Professor Janeen Baxter


Yadan Luo
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: uqluo@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Visual learning from imperfect data
Supervisors: Professor Helen Huang and Dr Mahsa Baktashmotlagh


Diana Naehrig
Institution: The University of Sydney
Email: diana.naehrig@sydney.edu.au
PhD Topic: PERMAnent psychological wellbeing in Australian GPs: exploring and applying principles of positive psychology
Supervisors: Professor Nick Glozier and Professor Stephanie Schurer


Thao Nguyen
Institution: The University of Melbourne
Email: thaon10@student.unimelb.edu.au
PhD Topic: Three essays on immigrant children
Supervisors: Professor Guyonne Kalb and Dr Andrew Clarke


Narayan Panthi
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: n.panthi@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Learning together: Supporting educators to manage behavioural challenges in early childhood services
Supervisors: Dr Sally Staton, Dr Sandra Houen and Professor Karen Thorpe


Daniel Pejic
Institution: The University of Melbourne
Email: daniel.pejic@unimelb.edu.au
PhD Topic: City agency and global urban migration governance: a study of inclusive leadership at home and abroad
Supervisors: Professor Michele Acuto and Professor Brendan Gleeson


Sonia Pervin
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: s.pervin@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Resemblance of parent-offspring dietary patterns and the development of offspring cardiometabolic risks: A life course perspective
Supervisors: Associate Professor Abdullah Mamun, Dr Pauline Emmet and Professor Harold McIntyre


Arvind Ponnapalli
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: n.ponnapalli@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Indigenous parent wellbeing measure: Implications for early intervention parenting programs in Indigenous communities
Supervisors: Associate Professor Karen Turner and Professor Matt Sanders


Kevin Pugh
Institution: The University of Sydney
Email: kpug5271@uni.sydney.edu.au
PhD Topic: Three essays on the economics of school education
Supervisors: Associate Professor Marian Vidal-Fernandez, Dr Yi Sun, and Dr Valentina Duque


Ruihong Qiu
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: r.qiu@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Sequential Modelling in the Real World
Supervisors: Professor Helen Huang and Associate Professor Hongzhi Yin


Bonnie Searle
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: b.searle@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: How do early childhood educators beliefs, behaviours and context impact upon child feeding practices and mealtimes within Australian childcare centre in low income areas
Supervisors: Professor Karen Thorpe, Dr Sally Staton and Associate Professor Robyn Littlewood


K M Shahunja
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: k.shahunja@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Impact of family and neighbourhood environmental changes on asthma status in Australian children
Supervisors: Associate Professor Abdullah Mamun and Professor Peter Sly


Nikita Sharma
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: nikita.sharma@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Immigrants in the Australian labour market
Supervisors: Associate Professor Wojtek Tomaszewki, Professor Janeen Baxter and Dr Jenny Povey


Laura Simpson Reeves
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: laura.simpsonreeves@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Samoan diasporic perspectives on the ‘good life’
Supervisors: Professor Cameron Parsell and Associate Professor Shuang Liu


Ruth Steinbring
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: r.steinbring@uq.net.au
MPhil Topic: Female breadwinners: Paid and unpaid work in familes where women earn more than men
Supervisors: Dr Jack Lam, Associate Professor Francisco Perales and Professor Janeen Baxter


Victoria Sullivan
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: v.sullivan@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Pride and Prejudice: The claiming and contesting of men’s participation in the early childhood workforce
Supervisors: Professor Karen Thorpe, Dr Laetia Coles and Dr Yuwei Xu (UCL)


Xueting Wang
Institution: The University of Sydney
Email: xwan8838@uni.sydney.edu.au
PhD Topic: Adolescent’s self-control issue and disadvantage
Supervisors: Associate Professor Agnieszka Tymula and Dr Stephen Cheung


Nicole Watson
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: n.watson@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Improvements in non-response adjustments for complex longitudinal survey data
Supervisors: Professor Janeen Baxter, Dr John Henstridge and Professor Michele Haynes


Emily Westwood
Institution The University of Queensland
Email: emily.westwood@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: How do everyday lighting environments affect the health and behaviours of children?
Supervisors: Dr Sally Staton, Professor Simon Smith, Dr Dwayne Mann and Dr Alicia Allan


James Whitten
Institution The University of Melbourne
Email: jwhitten@unimelb.edu.au
PhD Topic: Urban governance of high speed rail planning
Supervisors: Professor Brendan Gleeson


Steve Yeong
Institution: The University of Sydney
Email: steve.yeong@justice.nsw.gov.au
PhD Topic: Essays in micro econometric policy evaluation
Supervisors: Dr Katrien Stevens, Professor Deborah Cobb-Clark, Dr Don Weatherburn and Dr Mario Fiorini


Alicia Yon
Institution: The University of Melbourne
Email: ayon@student.unimelb.edu.au
PhD Topic: Access, participation and inclusion: the gender/disability/violence/service planning nexus
Supervisors: Professor Brendan Gleeson and Associate Professor Cathy Vaughan


Asma Zulfiqar
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: a.zulfiqar@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Moving Mountains: Pathways out of Patriarchy for Pakistani Women
Supervisors: Dr Jenny Povey and Professor Janeen Baxter


Masters by coursework students

 

Lawrence Phan
Institution: The University of Melbourne
Email: lphan@student.unimelb.edu.au
Thesis Topic: Spatial wage disparities in Australia
Supervisors: Dr Jordy Meekes


Trina Robinson
Institution: The University of Western Australia
Email: Trina.Robinson@telethonkids.org.au
Thesis Topic: Associations between parental perceptions of neighbourhood built environments and the social-emotional development of young children
Supervisors: Dr Andrea Nathan, Associate Professor Hayley Christian, and Dr Kevin Murray


Honours Students

 

Ilana Altas
Institution: The University of Melbourne
Email: ialtas@student.unimelb.edu.au
Thesis Topic: Inside the incel ontology: Involuntary celibacy and normative gendered pathways
Supervisors: Dr Signe Ravn and Associate Professor Leah Ruppanner


Jacob Dooley
Institution: The University of Sydney
Email: jdoo7951@uni.sydney.edu.au
Thesis Topic: Heritability and overconfidence: a twin study
Supervisors: Professor Agnieszka Tymula and Dr Nathan Kettlewell


Emma Irvine
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: e.irvinecollins@uq.net.au
Thesis Topic: EExamination of social partnerships in Common Ground’s Keeping Families Together program
Supervisors: Dr Ella Kuskoff, Dr Andrew Clarke, and Professor Cameron Parsell


Miriam Lewis
Institution: The University of Melbourne
Email: mmlewis@student.unimelb.edu.au
Thesis Topic: Encountering difference in café spaces
Supervisors: Dr Ilan Wiesel


Lucas Lewit-Mendes
Institution: The University of Melbourne
Email: llewit@student.unimelb.edu.au
Thesis Topic: Mass Deworming in Uganda: Wriggling out of Poverty
Supervisors: Dr Barbara Broadway and Dr Laura Panza


Tess Newton-Palmer
Institution: The University of Melbourne
Email: tnewtonpalme@student.unimelb.edu.au
Thesis Topic: Let’s talk about loneliness: A qualitative inquiry into the knowledge and perceptions of loneliness among young Australian students
Supervisors:  Dr Ashley Barnwell and Associate Professor Irma Mooi-Reci


Arin Tornyi-Aydin
Institution: The University of Sydney
Email: ator6246@uni.sydney.edu.au
Thesis Topic: What explains how people are evaluated when presenting a verbal argument? Evidence from a major high-school English-language competitive debating tournament.
Supervisors:  Associate Professor Marian Vidal-Fernandez and Dr Emilia Tjernström

 

Student affiliates

 

Christian Ramirez  |  The University of Sydney  |  rram0198@uni.sydney.edu.au

Claudio Campi  |  The University of Sydney  |  ccam2623@uni.sydney.edu.au

John Dundas  |   The University of Sydney  |  jdun0984@uni.sydney.edu.au

Elizabeth Vleeskens  |  The University of Sydney  |  evle0809@uni.sydney.edu.au

 


Student Alumni 2021

Tuhin Biswas
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: t.biswas@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Double burden of malnutrition among the women in South and Southeast Asia: Geographical variation, health inequality and health achievement
Supervisors: Associate Professor Abdullah Mamun, Associate Professor Ricardo Jorge Soares Magalhaes and Dr Nick Townsend


Alice Campbell
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: alice.campbell@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Sexual identity fluidity: The prevalence, predictors and outcomes of sexual identity change in two cohorts of Australian women
Supervisors: Associate Professor Francisco Perales and Professor Janeen Baxter


Leah Cave
Institution: The University of Western Australia
Email: leah.cave@telethonkids.org.au
PhD Topic: Pathways between racial discrimination and the health and wellbeing of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children and young people
Supervisors: Professor Stephen Zubrick, Dr Carrington Shepherd, Dr Matthew Cooper, and Associate Professor Hayley Christian


Carys Chainey
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: carys.chainey@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Childhood adversity in Australia: Does parenting moderate its relationship to positive development?
Supervisors: Dr Kylie Burke and Professor Michele Haynes


Nam (April) Hoang
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: a.phuong@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: The efficacy of the Triple P plus compassion in promoting co-parenting relationship between parents and grandparents in Vietnam
Supervisors: Professor Matt Sanders, Dr Divna Haslam, and Dr James Kirby


Student Alumni 2020

Dr Sarah Ball
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: s.ball@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: The use of behavioural insights and experimental methods in the development of social policy in Australia
Supervisors: Associate Professor Cameron Parsell, Professor Brian Head, Dr Sarah Bennett, and Dr Emma Antrobus

https://orcid.org/0000-0001-6712-0574 


Madonna Boman
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: m.boman@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Risky transitions: Young people moving from out-of-home care in Queensland, Australia
Supervisors: Associate Professor Cameron Parsell and Dr Jack Lam


Nicole Kapelle
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: e.kapelle@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Gendered impacts of life course transitions on social disadvantage in contemporary Australia: A life course perspective
Supervisors: Professor Janeen Baxter, Dr Sergi Vidal, and Dr Phillip Lersch


Ella Kuskoff
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: e.kuskoff@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: The road to hell is paved with good policy intentions: an analysis of government intervention in cultural aspects of domestic violence
Supervisors: Associate Professor Cameron Parsell, Dr Andrew Clarke and Professor Greg Marston


Angelina Tang
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: z.tang@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Overseas graduates in Australia: Characteristics, dynamics, and change
Supervisors: Associate Professor Francisco Perales, Professor Janeen Baxter, and Dr Francisco Rowe