HDR Students

 

Ms Christine Ablaza
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: c.ablaza@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Boon or bane? Temporary labor contracts and inequality in developing countries
Supervisors: Professor Mark Western and Dr Wojtek Tomaszewski


Ms Sarah Ball
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: s.ball@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: The use of behavioural insights and experimental methods in the development of social policy in Australia
Supervisors: Associate Professor Cameron Parsell, Professor Brian Head, Dr Sarah Bennett, and Dr Emma Antrobus


Mr Tuhin Biswas
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: t.biswas@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Double burden of malnutrition among the women in South and Southeast Asia: Geographical variation, health inequality and health achievement
Supervisors: Associate Professor Abdullah Mamun and Associate Professor Ricardo Jorge Soares Magalhaes


Ms Madonna Boman
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: m.boman@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Risky transitions: young people moving from out-of-home care in Queensland, Australia
Supervisors: Associate Professor Cameron Parsell and Dr Jack Lam


Ms Melisa Bubonya
Institution: The University of Sydney
Email: mbub7820@uni.sydney.edu.au
PhD Topic: The outcomes of immigrant children in Australia
Supervisors: Professor Deborah Cobb-Clark


Ms Suaditya C Mohan
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: s.cmohan@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Social ties and violence: A comparative study of the mediating effects of law legitimacy
Supervisors: Professor Lorraine Mazerolle, Dr Renee Zahnow


Ms Alice Campbell
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: alice.campbell@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Inequalities by sexual identity in Australia: The moderating role of micro-level contexts
Supervisors: Dr Francisco Perales and Professor Janeen Baxter


Ms Katrina Carr
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: k.carr@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Practice transformations to achieve justice for sexual assault victims
Supervisors: Dr Sarah Bennett and Associate Professor Cameron Parsell


Ms Leah Cave
Institution: The University of Western Australia
Email: leah.cave@telethonkids.org.au
PhD Topic: Identifying social pathways to enhanced life outcomes in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children
Supervisors: Professor Stephen Zubrick, Dr Carrington Shepherd, Dr Matt Cooper, and Dr Hayley Christian


Ms Carys Chainey
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: carys.chainey@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Investigating the intergenerational cycle of adversity, parenting and emotional dysregulation using administrative and survey data
Supervisors: Dr Kylie Burke and Professor Michele Haynes


Ms Laetitia Coles
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: l.coles@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Dads doing it daily: Identifying 21st century breadwinner dads who are highly involved in childcare
Supervisors: Dr Belinda Hewitt, Dr Wojtek Tomaszewski, and Professor Lynda Cheshire


Ms Gursimran Dhamrait
Institution: The University of Western Australia
Email: gursimran.dhamrait@telethonkids.org.au
PhD Topic: The effects of birth spacing, family size and demographic factors on child development outcomes at age 5
Supervisors: Professor Catherine Taylor, Dr Gavin Pereira, and Professor Stephen Zubrick


Mr Berihun Dachew
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: b.dachew@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Hypertension disorders of pregnancy and the risk of mental and behavioural disorders in offspring
Supervisors: Professor Rosa Alati, Associate Professor Abdullah Mamun, Associate Professor James Scott


Miss Kathleen De Rooy
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: kathleen.derooy@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Researching female offenders in their journey to desistance from a life course of crime
Supervisors: Dr Sarah Bennett and Dr Michelle Sydes


Ms Ruth (Lute) Faleolo
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: r.faleolo@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Pasifika trans-Tasman migration and well-being: Understanding Pasifika trans-Tasman migrant perceptions of well-being and their experiences in Auckland and Brisbane that fulfill their well-being aims
Supervisors: Professor Paul Memmott, Dr Kelly Greenop, Professor Mark Western, and Dr Denise Clague


Ms Lilac Florentino
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: l.florentino@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Managing odds: Addressing educational disadvantage through school accountability and better HRM practices
Supervisors: Dr Wojtek Tomaszewski, Dr Jenny Povey


Ms Nam (April) Hoang
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: a.hoang@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Intergenerational coparenting and children mental health outcomes: a case of Vietnam
Supervisors: Dr Divna Haslam, Professor Matt Sanders, and Dr James Kirby


Mr Md. Mehedi Hasan
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: m.m.hasan@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Future direction of maternal and child health in low- and middle- income countries
Supervisors: Associate Professor Abdullah Mamun


Mr M Mamun Huda
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: m.huda@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Transitions, determinants and vulnerabilities of adolescent health: A global perspective
Supervisors: Associate Professor Abdullah Mamun


Ms Nicole Kapelle
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: e.kapelle@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Gender, family life courses and economic wellbeing in Australia – The association between union dissolution and wealth
Supervisors: Professor Janeen Baxter, Dr Sergi Vidal, and Dr Phillip Lersch


Ms Ella Kuskoff
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: e.kuskoff@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Achieving cultural change through policy: An analysis of the impact of domestic violence policy in Australia
Supervisors: Associate Professor Cameron Parsell and Professor Greg Marston


Mr Felix Leung
Institution: The University of Sydney
Email: sleu5999@uni.sydney.edu.au
PhD Topic: The causal effects of cognitive and noncognitive skills on education
Supervisors: Dr Stefanie Schurer and Dr Peter Exterkate


Ms Cari McIlduff
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: c.mcilduff@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Engaging Indigenous Communities Collaboratively using Evidence Based Programming towards positive change
Supervisors: Associate Professor Karen Turner, Christine Wilson, and Professor Matt Sanders


Mr Paul Morton
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: paul.morton@uq.net.au
MPhil Topic: Operation galley
Supervisors: Professor Lorraine Mazerolle and Dr Sarah Bennett


Ms Emina Prguda
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: e.prguda@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Supporting families involved in the Queensland Community Corrections Systems: The role of parenting interventions in improving adolescent and parent outcomes
Supervisors: Dr Kylie Burke, Dr Emma Antrobus, and Dr Sarah Bennett


Mr Peter Rankin
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: p.rankin@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Using Bayesian models to understand how social disadvantage impacts people throughout their life course
Supervisors: Professor Mark Western, Professor Karen Thorpe and Professor Michele Haynes


Ms Marian Shakhovskoy
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: m.shakhovskoy@uq.net.au
PhD Topic: Parents and their adolescents: Being a strength in their success
Supervisors: Dr Linda Willis and Dr Jenny Povey


Ms Nikita Sharma
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: nikita.sharma@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Empirical investigation of horizontal inequalities in education and its impact
Supervisors: Dr Wojtek Tomaszewki, Professor Janeen Baxter, and Dr Jenny Povey


Ms Laura Simpson Reeves
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: laura.simpsonreeves@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Cultural perceptions of poverty and inequality
Supervisors: Associate Professor Cameron Parsell and Associate Professor Shuang Liu


Ms Victoria Sullivan
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: v.sullivan@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Pride and Prejudice: The claiming and contesting of men’s participation in the early childhood workforce
Supervisors: Professor Karen Thorpe and Dr Francisco Perales


Ms Angelina Tang
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: z.tang@uq.edu.au
PhD Topic: Overseas graduates in Australia: Characteristics, dynamics, and change
Supervisors: Dr Francisco Perales, Professor Janeen Baxter, and Dr Francisco Rowe


Ms Xueting Wang
Institution: The University of Sydney
Email: xwan8838@uni.sydney.edu.au
PhD Topic: An alternative, neuroscience-based model of the endowment effect
Supervisors: Associate Professor Agnieszka Tymula


Ms Nicole Watson
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: n.watson@uqconnect.edu.au
PhD Topic: Improvements in non-response adjustments for complex longitudinal survey data
Supervisors: Professor Michele Haynes


Mr Clement Wong
Institution: The University of Melbourne
Email: clement.wong@unimelb.edu.au
PhD Topic: Consequences of living independently: Essays on nest-leaving and the transition to adulthood
Supervisors: Dr Michael Coelli, Dr Andrew Clarke, and Professor David Ribar


Honours Students

 

Ms Heidi Hoffmann
Institution: The University of Queensland
Email: h.hoffmann@uq.edu.au
Honours Topic: Young parents and social support: A mixed methods approach to understanding the protective role of social support
Supervisors: Professor Janeen Baxter, Dr Francisco Perales, and Dr Rebecca Olson